Hotter Than the Sun
Providing English translations for Khiphop

Jan 27th

Han Gyeol (Laybacksound) Covers Maxwell’s “Pretty Wings”

1/27/2013 12:57:00 AM

Yesterday, singer Han Gyeol from the trio Laybacksound released a new video in which he remakes the song “Pretty Wings”. With this very convincing cover of Maxwell’s song, the artist clearly confirms his position of vocalist within the group.

Also take the time to listen to “SNATCH UP”, the second single from Laybacksound which was released earlier this month.

article translated from Under K-HipHop
(source: laybacksound@yt)

Jan 25th

40 Shares His Feelings in His New Music Video “Please Take My Letter”

1/25/2013 08:15:00 AM


During this time of extreme cold, what is better than a love song to warm up your heart? That was the intention of singer 40 when he created his latest single, “Please Take My Letter”.

This time around, the artists opts for a sound more acoustic than on his previous tracks. Armed with his guitar, he films a music video outdoors for the first time, and more precisely by the beach, which helps to convey the romantic lyrics of this new song.

I leave you to watch the music video below. If you like the song, support the artist by purchasing the single on Mnet or other music sites.

article translated from Under K-HipHop
(source: hiphopplaya)

Jan 14th | 3

Release of the Mini-Album “Vol.4 Part 2” from Baechigi + MV for “Shower of Tears” (Feat. Ailee)

1/14/2013 01:20:00 PM
Remember! Last year, Baechigi announced their comeback after three years of inactivity. Given the large number of songs that they had prepared, the duo decided to release them in two parts instead of grouping them into a full fourth album. It is from there that their mini-album Two Mari released last April under their new label YMC Entertainment was born.

Today, the two friends are both back with the second mini-album, Vol.4 Part 2. This album is, like the previous one, composed of five tracks on which you find the artists DC and Loptimist, as well as a feminine touch with the voices of Jo Hyuna (Urban Zakapa), Woo Hyemi, and Ailee. It is in collaboration with the latter that they performed “Shower of Tears”, the title song of the album for which you can watch the music video at the end of this article.

The lyrics of this song evoke a painful separation between two young lovers. While many expected to see Ailee in the video (Baechigi and Ailee are part of the same agency), it is the singer Yang Jiwon from the idol group SPICA who finally takes the lead role.

I will leave you to discover the five tracks from the mini-album. Do not hesitate to buy it on YesAsia if you like the songs!

MV for “Shower of Tears” (feat. Ailee):

Track 1 – “Under The Sun” (feat. DC)
Track 2 – “The 9th Year”
Track 4 – “Are You Happy” (feat. Jo Hyuna of Urban Zakapa)
Track 5 – “Don’t Worry” (feat. Woo Hyemi & Loptimist)

article translated from Under K-HipHop
(source: hiphopplaya)

Jan 9th | 1

The A-Team Reveals Two Freestyle Videos

1/08/2013 10:13:00 PM

The A-Team crew just released two freestyle videos with an array of young rappers (including a female one!) such as Crossbeat, Xung, Wallflower, Platon2cal, Snoop-E and Primwon, Lawger, The S, Son Hyo Jung, and Easy. The crew announced that these young rookies will undergo training to improve their skills and will unveil more of their talents.
Mixtapes are also planned to allow the general public to discover them better.

article translated from Under K-HipHop
(source: hiphopplaya)

Jul 25th | 1

Nam Soo-Rim - “Drive Me To The Moon” M/V Full Version

Singer-songwriter Nam Soo Rim releases “Drive Me to the Moon,” a light album in which it’s at its most natural state. (25th July)

Rimi will be releasing “Drive Me to the Moon” under her real name Nam Soo Rim, as this will be her first album outside of her original stage name Rimi.

Nam Soo Rim, who has reached her mid-20s just this year, showcases a light album consisting a total of 5 new tracks in which she tells her story without any fabrication in “Drive Me to the Moon.” Unlike the normal rapping she had done before, this upcoming album was all composed and written by Nam Soo Rim herself in giving off her own unique music vibe through an overall acoustic sound. 

Read More

Jul 19th | 7

Olltii Puts an End to the Wait and Releases the Mixtape “Rappin’ OLLday”

7/19/2012 06:03:00 PM

For those who do not know, Olltii is the youngest member of the ADV crew that has made a name for himself in the underground scene, thanks in particular to the rap battles that he participated in. Since he has only released a single song so far, it was highly anticipated by lovers of Korean hip hop.

The 16-year-old rapper released his first mixtape today, Rappin’ OLLday, on which many artists lent their voice. It includes some members of ADV, such as JJK, 8Dro, Reflow, and even DJ KENDRICKX, but also the rappers Suda, Andup, and Seochulgu. This album will undoubtedly delight fans since it contains no less than 17 tracks.

Check out “Rigaolltiis”, Olltii’s very first music video, and download his mixtape for free here:

Happy listening!

Olltii - “Rigaolltiis” Official Music Video

article translated from Under K-HipHop
(source: ADV’s Twitter)

Jul 17th | 2

Lil’ Cham, a Newcomer in the Rap Game

7/17/2012 02:32:00 PM

The label FACTORY BOI Production, which rapper i11evn is currently a part of, introduces its brand new talent: Lil’ Cham. This female rapper debuted in the music industry today with the single “내방으로 와 (In My Room)”, produced by Fame-J.

Lil’ Cham - “내방으로 와” MV

article translated by Under K-HipHop
(source: hiphopplaya)

Jul 17th | 1

Bassagong Releases His New Mixtape “Departure 3”

7/17/2012 02:03:00 PM

At the start of 2012, Bassagong had released two mixtapes under Coast II Coast Production, a company run by the rapper Infamous Kay. Today, it is as an independent artist that he has returned with a third mixtape, Departure 3.

Check out the music video for the title track “이게 너야 (That’s you)” now, and download the mixtape for free here:

Bassagong -이게 너야” MV

article translated from Under K-HipHop
(source: R.O.K Hip Hop)

Jun 22nd | 2

Check Out the Music Video for “Seoul”, the New Single from Paloalto and Evo

6/20/2012 08:18:00 PM

As we had announced earlier, rappers Paloalto and Evo partnered this time on an album. The two artists officialized this collaboration somewhat by offering a remix of “Rolling in the Deep”, one of the signature tracks from British singer Adele. Today, they released their first single as a duo. The song is titled “Seoul” and has been co-produced by the two rappers.

As for their project album, Behind The Scenes, its production is nearing its end. It should be in stores by early July.

Here is the music video for “Seoul”, which was directed by 8dro.

article translated from Under K-HipHop
(source: Hi-Lite + hiphopplaya)
Jun 12th | 10

Paloalto & Evo VS Adele, or when Korean rap meets British pop…

6/10/2012 12:56:00 PM

On June 7th, Paloalto and Evo from Hi-Lite Records released the music video “Could’ve Had It All”. This song is a remix of the hit song “Rolling in the Deep” performed by British singer Adele. To accomplish this, the two rappers were assisted by artists Okasian and Soul One who appeared as featurings on this track.

This remix is intended to promote the project album that Palotalto and Evo plan to release soon. You can download the song for free here.

So, do you prefer this version to the original?

article translated from Under K-HipHop
(source: Hi-Lite Records’ website + hiphopplaya)